University of Southern California


Previous Zumberge Fund Recipients

2017 Zumberge Interdisciplinary Awardees
Paul Thompson, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Addressing the Power Failure in Big Data Brain Studies

Qifa Zhou, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Novel Focused Ultrasound (NFU) for Transscleral Drug Delivery

2017 Zumberge Individual Awardees
Adel Javanmard, Marshall School of Business
Inference on Sparse Network Data via Semidefinite Programming

Alexis Zoto, Roski School of Fine Arts
Interfaith imagery in traditional Albanian kilims

Britni Belcher, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Contextual, psychological, and metabolic factors associated with interrupting sedentary time in youth in free-living settings

David Quinn, Rossier School of Education
Teachers’ Stereotypes and Implicit Biases: Laying the Groundwork for a Research Agenda with New Measures and Applications in Education

Doug LaRowe, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences
Carbon, energy and microorganisms

Douglas Feldman, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Impact of DNA 6-methyladenine (6mA) modification on gene silencing in mice

Etienne Gaudette, School of Pharmacy
Disparities in Statin Therapy and their Lifetime Health Consequences

Kristi Lewton, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Hindlimb bone functional adaptation to leaping in small-bodied primates

Nan Jia, Marshall School of Business
A Study of the Clustering of Political and Economic Power

Sandy Zhang-Nunes, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Diagnostic and Therapeutic Applications of Ultrasound for the Prevention and Treatment of Dry Eye Disease

2016 Zumberge Interdisciplinary Awardees
David Agus, Keck School of Medicine
Andrea Armani, Viterbi School of Engineering
Shannon Mumenthaler, Keck School of Medicine
Patrick Maloney, USC Stevens Center for Innovation
Correlating physical and biochemical markers of cancer to aggressiveness

Douglas Capone, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences
Eva Kanso, Viterbi School of Engineering
Storage of pathogens in biofilms during drought and subsequent release upon rewetting

Vinay Duddalwar, Keck School of Medicine
Brent Liu, Viterbi School of Engineering
Decision Support for Diagnosis of Renal Masses

Genevieve Guiliano, Sol Price School of Public Policy
Marlon Boarnet, Sol Price School of Public Policy
Maged Dessouky, Viterbi School of Engineering
Petros Ioannou, Viterbi School of Engineering
University Transportation Centers Program

Sergey Nuzhdin, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences
Paul Marjoram, Keck School of Medicine
Travis Longcore, School of Architecture
Population Environmental Genomics of Crop Improvement

Carol Prescott, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences
Tara Gruenewald, School of Gerontology
Jack McArdle, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences
Resilience of Americans across the Lifecourse

2015 Zumberge Interdisciplinary Awardees
Christopher Haselwandter, USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences
Ralf Langen, Keck School of Medicine
Regulation of Membrane Shape by α-Synuclein

Ana Erdreich-Epstein, Keck School of Medicine
Xiaojiang Chen, USC Dornsfie College of Letters, Arts and Sciences
Structural and functional studies of PID1, a novel candidate tumor suppressor in brain cancer

Beth Fisher, Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC
Lucinda Carver, Thornton School of Music
The Relation between Interhemispheric Inhibition and Musician’s Skill Level

2016 Zumberge Individual Awardees
Anoopindar Bhalla, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Methods to Personalize Pediatric PEEP Titration

Rita Burke, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Mixed methods to identify factors in disaster preparedness for children with special healthcare needs

Joon-Ho Choi, School of Architecture
User-Centered Integrative Building System Control Using Human Bio-Signals for Environmental Health and Sustainability

Leah Duker, Ostrow School of Dentistry
Environmental Predictors of Stress in Children Undergoing Chemotherapy Infusions

Joel Hahn, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences
Correlated Neuroactivational, Neuroanatomical, and Behavioral Analyses of a Novel Hyperaggression Model

Xuejuan Jiang, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Helicobacter pylori Infection and Primary Open-angle Glaucoma among Mexican Americans: an Example of Microbiota-Gut-Brain Axis?

Ilya Lekht, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Role of quantitative contrast-enhanced ultrasound in yttrium-90 (90Y) radioembolization of hepatocellular carcinoma

Jessica Marglin, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences
Nationality on Trial: Jews and the Making of the Modern Mediterranean

Gourab Mukherjee, Marshall School of Business
High-Dimensional Prediction under Asymmetric Check Loss

Annie Nguyen, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Social support and the caregiving needs and preferences of older adults living with HIV

Emily Smith-Greenaway, Dornsife College of Letters, Arts & Sciences
Unintended Fertility in sub-Saharan Africa: Refining Measurement and Understanding of its Prevalence and Consequences for Children

Zhuo Wang, Keck School of Medicine of USC
Chemogenetic study of the role of prefrontal cortex in resting state brain network

2015 Zumberge Individual Awardees
James Finley, Ostrow School of Dentistry
Elucidation of the Neuromechanical Factors Underlying the Adaptive Control of Locomotion

Mimi Kim, Keck School of Medicine
Food‐Seeking Behavior in Childhood Obesity

Kevin King, Keck School of Medicine
Cerebrovascular reactivity as an early predictor of brain hypoperfusion, microvascular injury, and cognitive decline

Alireza Moshaverinia, Ostrow School of Dentistry
Regenerative treatment of peri‐implantitis with mesenchymal stem cells encapsulated in nano‐reinforced
photocurable hydrogel

Nathan Perl‐Rosenthal, USC Dornsife College
Citizens on the Ocean: Maritime Subjects and the Making of the Modern World

Han Wang, Viterbi School of Engineering
Large-area Synthesis of Black Phosphorus Thin film and Atomically-thin Layers

Yongxiang Wang, Marshall School of Business
The Economics of Death Ceilings: Motivating Chinese Regulators

Previous Awardees:
Zumberge Interdisciplinary Awardees 2006-2014
Zumberge Individual Awardees 2006-2014

Research Calendar

Submit an Event

How to submit your event

See all events in the USC Research Calendar.