University of Southern California

Research

Promote Your Research through “The Conversation” and See USC Research Culture Survey Results

In our assessment of research culture at USC, one request from faculty has been to offer more avenues to publicize the university’s great research. Toward that end, the provost office has executed an agreement with The Conversation (TC) that gives our faculty priority access and attention to promote placement of articles in media outlets. 

The entire university is now an underwriter of TC and a priority partner in the mission to advance academic research for the public good. USC receives TC’s daily Experts Request notice soliciting faculty commentaries on trending topics, so there are more invitations/opportunities for engagement. And USC has a dashboard tool to track where content goes, audience size and other key metrics.  The Conversation also provides a page to promote stories created at USC. Last, authors work directly with the TC editor to fashion the story and have final approval.

How to Participate

As explained in this video, The Conversation responds to “pitches”, which may be sent directly from faculty to TC, or via USC’s media offices (see list below). A direct pitch is sent via TC’s online form once an author enrolls in TC.

A pitch contains two parts: (1) the story, in 50 words, and (2) the significance of the story, in 100 words.  For example:

Section:
Environment + Energy

Story:
Understanding how people use technology differently helps efficiency save money and reduce carbon emissions. A new study of U.S. consumer use of televisions, clothes washers and dryers shows that savings from an efficient appliance ranges from net loss (-$100) to large benefit (+$1,560), depending on the person.

Significance:
Consumers and policy-makers don’t appreciate how individual differences in technology use so dramatically affects monetary and carbon savings. Energy labels on appliances show average consumption, but many consumers use significantly more and less than this. Utilities offer rebate programs for purchase of efficient devices, these provide the same information and rebate to all consumers. If utilities target high-saving consumers, e.g. families with kids with lots of laundry to buy an efficient clothes washer, there is potential for more energy savings with less investment. Consumers should get more personalized energy information when buying an appliance, encouraging heavy users to choose efficiency.

For more information, please consult Beth Shuster, Director of Public Communications in the Office of the Provost:  bethshus@usc.edu

Office of Research Outlets for Promoting Research

The Office of Research promotes research on Twitter and YouTube, as well as on research.usc.edu and through incubate.usc.edu.  Please see:

Twitter:   https://twitter.com/ResearchAtUSC

YouTube:     https://youtube.com/ResearchAtUSC

USC Stevens Center Twitter:  https://twitter.com/USCStevens

Research Culture Survey

The USC Research Culture Survey has closed with more than 1300 responses.  Thanks to all of you who participated.

A summary of the results is attached.  In the coming months, the Office of Research will work with the University Research Committee to explore results at a more granular level, across units and categories, to better understand areas for improvement.  As before, your feedback is encouraged.

List of The Conversation Editors

Manager, University Editorial Relations
Ari.Fertig@theconversation.com
(Ari is best go-to TC person for general questions)

Arts and Culture
Nick.Lehr@theconversation.com

Big Data and Mathematics
Aviva.Rutkin@theconversation.com

Business and Economy
Bryan.Keogh@theconversation.com

Education
jamaal@theconversation.com

Ethics and Religion
Kalpana.Jain@theconversation.com

Energy and Environment
Martin.Lamonica@theconversation.com
Jennifer.Weeks@theconversation.com

Health and Medicine
Lynne.Anderson@theconversation.com

Philanthropy and Nonprofits
Emily.Schwartz.Greco@theconversation.com

Politics and Society
Emily.Costello@theconversation.com
Danielle.Douez@theconversation.com
Catesby.Holmes@theconversation.com
Naomi.Schalit@theconversation.com

Science and Technology
Maggie.Villiger@theconversation.com
Jeff.Inglis@theconversation.com
Bijal.Trivedi@theconversation.com

Editorial Researcher
Jonathan.Gang@theconversation.com
Nicole.Zelniker@theconversation.com

University Relations Coordinator
Katie.Lineberger@theconversation.com

List of USC communications staff who can help faculty:

Lance Ignon Dornsife College lignon@usc.edu
Jim Key Dornsife College jameskey@usc.edu
Darrin Joy Dornsife College darrin.joy@dornsife.usc.edu
Emily Cavalcanti Annenberg School of Communications emilycav@usc.edu
Ted Kissell Annenberg School of Communications tkissell@usc.edu
Amy Blumenthal Viterbi School of Engineering amyblume@usc.edu
Adam Smith Viterbi School of Engineering adamgsmi@usc.edu
Michael Chung Viterbi School of Engineering michaedc@usc.edu
Ross Brenneman Rossier School of Education rossbren@rossier.usc.edu
Orli Belman Leonard Davis School of Gerontology obelman@usc.edu
Mary Dacuma Keck School of Medicine Mary.Dacuma@med.usc.edu
Cynthia Smith Keck School of Medicine Cynthia.smith@med.usc.edu
Meredith Drake Reitan associate dean USC grad schools mereditd@usc.edu
Araceli Roach Office of Research aracelir@usc.edu
Julie Labich Sol Price School of Public Policy samere@price.usc.edu
Benedict Dimapindan Gould Law School bdimapindan@law.usc.edu
Megan Goulding Sol Price School of Public Policy mgouldin@price.usc.edu
Matthew Simmons Marshall School of Business simm978@marshall.usc.edu
Ann Bergman Gould School of Law agbergma@usc.edu
Michelle Keller School of Pharmacy kellermi@usc.edu
Sara Preto Institute for Creative Technology preto@usc.edu
Michelle Moore Alzheimer’s Therapeutic Research Institute shelleym@usc.edu
Cristy Lytal USC Stem Cell Center lytal@med.usc.edu
Delphine Vasko School of Dramatic Arts dvasko@usc.edu
Kirsten Schmidt Roski School of Art and Design schmidtk@usc.edu
Linda Wang School of Pharmacy wanglind@usc.edu
Elizabeth Held School of Architecture eheld@usc.edu
Roger Smith Sol Price School of Public Policy rogersmi@usc.edu
Cecile Oreste Glorya Kaufman School of Dance oreste@usc.edu
Gretchen Meier Sol Price School of Public Policy gmeier@healthpolicy.usc.edu
Kukla Vera Sol Price School of Public Policy kuklaver@healthpolicy.usc.edu
Karine Kim Iovine/Young Academy karine.kim@usc.edu
Evan F Calbi Thornton School of Music calbi@usc.edu
Tyson R Gaskill USC Libraries gaskill@usc.edu
Josh Grossberg USC Shoah Foundation josh.grossberg@usc.edu
Eddie North-Hager USC media relations office edwardnh@usc.edu
Beth Shuster USC provost’s office bethshus@usc.edu
Eric Abelev USC president’s office abelev@president.usc.edu
Gary Polakovic USC research communications polakovi@usc.edu
Jenesse Miller USC research communications jenessem@usc.edu
Leigh Hopper USC research communications lhopper@usc.edu
Ron Mackovich USC central communications Ronald.mackovich@usc.edu
Jeremy Pepper USC central communications Pepper@usc.edu